The University of Seville (Universidad de Sevilla) is a university in Seville, Spain. Founded under the name of Colegio Santa María de Jesús in 1505, it has a present student body of over 65,000, and is one of the top-ranked universities in the country. Seville is the 2000-year-old artistic, cultural, and financial capital of Andalusia in southern Spain; it is situated on the plain of the River Guadalquivir.

Its organization comprises:
Governed by the Department Council (Consejo de Departamento): The Departments
Governed by Centre Council (Junta de Centro): consists of Faculties, Technical Sciences Schools (Escuelas Técnicas Superiores), and University Schools (Escuelas Universitarias).

The main building of University of Seville is known as the "Old Tobacco Factory", named for its original use. Built in the 18th century, Seville's tobacco factory was the largest industrial building in the world at that time and remained a tobacco factory until the 1950s. This beautiful building is also the setting for the renowned opera, Carmen, by Bizet. Carmen was a fictional worker in the tobacco factory, the original story being a novella by Prosper Mérimée. This building houses two of the university's faculties: the School of Literature and Philology, and the School of Geography and History.

Other campuse and faculties are located throughout Seville, including the Health Science schools in La Macarena, the Business School in Nervion, the Engineering School and School of Communications in La Cartuja and its Languages Institute (Instituto de Idiomas) and Science Schools in Reina Mercedes.

Academic production